Seals- the angelic creature of the sea

Updated: Mar 5, 2021

The seal is a curious and intelligent creature of the sea. These creatures are semi aquatic creatures found throughout the world, 33 species to be exact. Seals are a part of the pinnipeds branch, the three main groups of the pinnipeds branch is Odobenidae, Otariidae and the Phocidae sub branch. Most species can be found in the colder weather, the seal has a thick layer of fat and condensed fur that keeps them from freezing. Various types of seals can hold their breath for different amounts of time. For example the elephant seal can hold their breath for 2 hours or more. The diet for seals can vary depending on the type of seal for example the walrus whose entire diet are clams and other shellfish on the hand leopard seals hunt down penguins. Seals can live up to 30 years in the wild and can weigh up to 4.4 tons depending on the type of seal.

Leopard seal

Scientific name: Hydrurga lepton

Photo credit:

The leopard seals are aggressive and vicious hunters of the sea. Leopard seals are carnivores their main source of food are penguins and other larger animals. They live a considerably short life, in the wild they live up to 15 years. One will ask why they are named after a powerful feline. They are named after a leopard because of the cat-like features they convey they have powerful jaws that can quickly bite into prey. Although they are powerful creatures they have natural predators like the killer whale. Leopard seals are very solitary creatures and are sexually active when they are around 3 to 6 years old but overall the leopard seal produces 60 pups annually. They aren’t endangered because of the 1973 Marine Mammals Protection act.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All